The Lady of the Rivers – Book Review

Philippa Gregory is known for not being that historically accurate and is most popular for The Other Boleyn Girl (which does show Anne in a bad light and isn’t that accurate). However, if you just read her novels as you do ordinary fiction books, you might enjoy them. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first started The Lady of the Rivers because, to be honest, I don’t know too much about the War of the Roses; I know about it but not much about the actual people involved. I decided not to take this novel too seriously, just relax and read it and maybe remember some of the names and events to look up later.
I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would, the only part that started to bore me was when it settled in the middle and Jacquetta kept commenting on her married life and how much she missed Woodville etc. I also had to dismiss all the witch hints and comments but, other than those two issues, it was a fairly good book.

One of the parts I enjoyed the most was the part about Henry VI’s mental illness. I liked how she described how panicked everyone was that the King kept sleeping and wouldn’t wake, how the kingdom was only just staying together. Even though this wasn’t accurate, I also liked how Jacquetta thought it was her fault and that she had done something to him. It did make me look up Henry VI and his long ‘sleep’, finding out that it was probably due to a mental illness and he might have even had a breakdown.

So this book is a good book for anyone liking historical fiction that isn’t too worried about historical accuracy or someone who can look past it (like me). However, if you want a historically accurate book then I advise you to stay away from this book, especially with the ‘witches’. As I am reading them in chronological order, I am on to The Red Queen next.

My rating: 3.5/5

image

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

