Recorded History Documentaries

People have asked me how I watch some of the older documentaries and, when I say, they ask for what other ones I have and whether I can provide information about them. Some also ask me whether I just record all documentaries I watch or whether I buy some as well.

I have a system for the documentaries I record. First, I record it on my Sky box so that I don’t have to worry about watching it the exact time it is on. Then I search for more information on Google and most important, Amazon. I like to support the people who make the documentaries and I also like seeing behind the scenes and have subtitles, so if it is on DVD I will buy or preorder it. Using a latest example, I watched Britain’s Bloodiest Dynasty on TV a little while ago but then found it was available to preorder on DVD, so I just watched it instead of recording it. If it doesn’t look like it will come out on DVD, like Hidden Killers of the Tudor Home, I use my DVD recorder to put it onto a disc. This is useful as I can later watch it and make notes whenever I want or write a review on it. So, for everyone asking, these are all the documentaries I’ve recorded and my ratings for each one:

Henry and Anne: The Lovers Who Changed History – 4/5
The Last Days of Anne Boleyn – 5/5
Inside the Body of Henry VIII – 5/5
The Secrets of Henry VIII’s Palace: Hampton Court – 3/5
Elizabeth I: Killer Queen? – 4/5
The Secret Life of Elizabeth I – 4/5
Majesty and Mortar – 3/5
Tales from the Royal Wardrobe -3/5
Inquisition: Tudor Heretics – 3/5
Behind The Tudors (series) – 3/5
Richard III: The New Evidence – 4/5
Hidden Killers of the Victorian Home – 5/5
Hidden Killers of the Edwardian Home – 5/5
Castles: Britain’s Fortified History – 4/5
Tudor Monastery Farm: Christmas Special – 4/5
Britain’s Tudor Treasure: A Night at Hampton Court – 4/5
Hidden Killers of the Tudor Home – 4/5
Bloody Britain – Mary I – 2/5
Harlots, Housewives and Heroines -4/5
Tales from the Royal Bedchamber – 5/5
History of the Home – 5/5

I do have many documentaries on proper DVDs as well that I’ve bought, ranging from David Starkey’s Monarchy to Tudor Monastery Farm. If anyone wants to know more about some of these documentaries or want my opinion on them then please feel free to ask! Hope this has answered everyone’s questions.

image

The multiple DVD case I use to store my recorded DVDs in case there is some sort of history emergency 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

